Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)


The Faculty Resource Committee reviews requests from departments and programs for ladder faculty resources and searches and recommends approved searches to the Dean. The Office of the Dean of the FAS monitors the search and appointment process by which faculty positions in FAS departments and programs are filled, from advertisement to final approval of the successful candidate.

The responsibility for allocating faculty resources resides with the Dean of the FAS, who chairs the Faculty Resource Committee (FRC), which includes the Deans of the Graduate School and Yale College, as well as the chairs of the area advisory committees and several FAS faculty members.

Committee Membership for 2024-25

Voting Faculty Members

Tamar Szabó Gendler | Committee Chair; Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Vincent J. Scully Professor of Philosophy and Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Sciences

Lynn Cooley | Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences; C. N. H. Long Professor of Genetics and Professor of Cell Biology and of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Emily Erikson | Professor of Sociology

Larry Gladney | FAS Dean of Science; Chair, Physical Science & Engineering Advisory Committee; Phyllis A. Wallace Dean of Dean of Diversity and Faculty Development; Professor of Physics

Pericles Lewis | Dean of Yale College; Douglas Tracy Smith Professor of Comparative Literature

Tina Lu | Colonel John Trumbull Professor of East Asian Languages and Literatures

Fatima Naqvi | Elias W. Leavenworth Professor of Germanic Languages and Literatures and of Film and Media Studies

Marc Robinson | Chair, Humanities Advisory Committee; FAS Dean of Humanities; Malcolm G. Chace ‘56 Professor of Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies, of English, of American Studies; Professor in the Practice of Dramaturgy and Dramatic Criticism at the David Geffen School of Drama

Kenneth Scheve | Chair, Social Science Advisory Committee; FAS Dean of Social Science; Dean Acheson Professor of Political Science and Global Affairs

Yajaira Suarez | Chair, Biological Science Advisory Committee; Anthony N. Brady Professor of Comparative Medicine and of Pathology; Deputy Chair, Comparative Medicine

Mary-Louise Timmermans | Damon Wells Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences

Non-Voting Advisory Staff

John Mangan | FAS Dean of Faculty Affairs; Senior Associate Dean

Taylor Mascari | Senior Administrative Assistant, FAS Dean’s Office

Pamela Schirmeister | Deputy Dean of Yale College and the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Jason Zentz | FAS Associate Dean

    Past Committee Membership

    2023-24 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)

    2022-23 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)

    2021-22 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)

    2020-21 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)

    2019-20 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)

    2018-19 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)

    2017-18 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)

    2016-17 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)

    2015-16 Faculty Resource Committee (FRC)