Teaching for the 21st Century Exploratory Committee (ad hoc)


The mandate of the Teaching for the 21st Century Exploratory Committee is to think broadly about the goals and ideals of undergraduate education in the 21st century, given changes in the intellectual landscape and the size and demographics of Yale’s undergraduate student body.

Among the topics it will explore are: modes of pedagogy, technology within and beyond the classroom, interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary teaching, the relation between graduate and undergraduate teaching, the role of ladder and non-ladder faculty, similarities and differences across academic divisions, and models and ideas from other institutions, including universities, colleges and K-12 institutions.

The committee will write a brief report identifying common themes, challenges and innovations that face the FAS, and will recommend a number of successor committees to explore and implement these ideas.

2018-19 Committee Membership

John Rogers | Committee Chair, Professor of English

Seyla Benhabib (fall only) | Eugene Meyer Professor of Political Science and Professor of Philosophy

Bhart-Anjan Bhullar  | Assistant Professor of Geology and Geophysics

John Carlson (fall only) | Eugene Higgins Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

Henry Cowles | Assistant Professor in the History of Medicine and of History

Jennifer Frederick (committee staff) | Executive Director, Yale Center for Teaching and Learning

Greta LaFleur | Assistant Professor of American Studies

Andrew Miranker (fall only) | Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry and of Chemical and Environmental Engineering

Tavia (Tav) Nyong’o | Professor of Theater Studies and of American Studies

Jonathan Reuning-Scherer | Senior Lecturer in Forestry and Environmental Studies and in Statistics

W. Mark Saltzman | Goizueta Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Cellular and Molecular Physiology and of Chemical Engineeting

Laurie Santos | Professor of Psychology

Adriane Steinacker | Lecturer in Physics

Aleh Tsyvinski | Arthur M. Okun Professor of Economics and Professor of Management

Claudia Valeggia | Professor of Anthropology

Petronella (Nelleke) Van Deusen-Scholl | Director, Yale Center for Language Study; Professor (Adjunct) of Linguistics

Past Committee Membership

2016-17 Teaching for the 21st Century Exploratory Committee