Academic Review Committee


The purpose of the Academic Review Committee (ARC) was to carry forward the work of the Ad Hoc Committee on Faculty Resources and Budgeting for the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (also known as the “Nordhaus Committee”). The committee was charged by then-Provost Peter Salovey with reviewing “the allocation of faculty positions across divisions and departments” and with recommending any necessary changes in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS). This charge excluded the School of Engineering & Applied Science (SEAS) and the West Campus. The Provost also asked the ARC to follow up on recommendations of the Nordhaus Committee concerning the accounting and management of faculty positions.

Committee Reports


2012-14 Committee Membership

Steven Berry James Burrows Moffatt Professor of Economics; director of the division of Social Science

Julia Adams | Professor and former chair of Sociology; deputy provost for the Social Sciences and Faculty Development; director of the division of Social Science

Michael DonoghueSterling Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Jack Dovidio | Carl Iver Hovland Professor of Psychology

Jonathan Ellman | Eugene Higgins Professor of Chemistry; Professor of Pharmacology; director of the division of Physical Sciences and Engineering

Donald Engelman | Eugene Higgins Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; director of the division of Biological Sciences

Tamar Gendler | Vincent J. Scully Professor of Philosophy; Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Science; former chair of Philosophy; Deputy Provost for the Humanities and initiatives 

Jonathan Holloway | Professor of History, African American Studies, and American Studies and Chair of African American Studies

Lawrence Manley | William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of English; director of the division of the Humanities

Mary Miller | Dean of Yale College; Sterling Professor of History of Art

Tom Pollard | Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences; Sterling Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology; Professor of Cell Biology and of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry

Ramamurti Shankar | John Randolph Huffman Professor of Physics and Applied Physics

Ian Shapiro | Sterling Professor of Political Science; Henry R. Luce Director of the MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies

J Lloyd Suttle* (non-voting member) | Deputy Provost for Academic Resources

Jing Tsu | Professor of Modern Chinese Literature and Culture