Divisions and School

The Faculty of Arts and Sciences is organized into some 50 departments and interdisciplinary programs, each of which is housed within a division or school. These three divisions and one school represent the four intellectual areas that comprise the Faculty of Arts and Sciences: Humanities, Social Science, Science (both Biological and Physical), and Engineering and Applied Science. Each of these four units has a dean who oversees its departments and programs; refer to the divisional governance page for more details about the responsibilities of each divisional dean.

Division of Humanities

The world-class faculty who cover the expansive intellectual terrain of the departments and programs in the Humanities division of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences are dedicated to the study of who we are, what we are, and what we might become. They are experts in languages, cultures, and traditions, who think critically about our globalized world and the societal issues that arise out of it. Through collaboration, research, and teaching, they create conversations around the most pressing questions that humankind has addressed from antiquity to the 21st century.

The divisional dean of the Humanities is Kathryn Lofton.

Division of Social Science

The distinguished faculty in the Social Science division of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences are renowned scholars and practitioners who critically examine human society and its interactions so to advance knowledge and address the challenges we face today. They research human cognition, behavior, values, health, and policy to provide insights into the social challenges that exist within and across communities around the globe. In their teaching, they train students at all levels to be active and engaged leaders in our society.

The acting divisional dean of Social Science is Steven Wilkinson. The outgoing divisional dean of Social Science is Alan Gerber.

Division of Science

The Science division of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences includes illustrious faculty spanning the biological and physical sciences. They are world leaders in conducting basic and applied research in the natural sciences to better understand the world and universe surrounding us; to help solve energy, environmental, and health problems produced and faced by modern humans; and to provide rigorous undergraduate, graduate, and postgraduate education that trains future scientific professionals and generally promotes scientific literacy in the human population.

The divisional dean of Science is Jeffrey Brock.

School of Engineering & Applied Science

The School of Engineering & Applied Science comprises six FAS departments: Applied Physics, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science. The School’s demanding engineering education, within one of the world’s most renowned liberal arts institutions, provides not only a fundamental knowledge of science and engineering, but also a strong and unique understanding of the complex social, political, economic, and environmental implications that must be considered when developing complete solutions to global problems.

The Dean of the School of Engineering & Applied Science is Jeffrey Brock.