New Ladder Faculty (2020-2021)

The Yale Faculty of Arts and Science is pleased to welcome 30 new ladder faculty members who will join us during the 2020-2021 academic year.

Incoming FAS faculty members span all of the FAS divisions: 10 will join Humanities departments, 11 will join us in the Social Sciences, and 9 join departments in the Division of Science and School of Engineering and Applied Science. Of these, 27 joined the FAS rolls in July 2020; 3 of our 9 new colleagues in Science and SEAS will join us in January 2021. Of the 30 ladder faculty who joined or will join the FAS in 2020-21, 12 are tenured and 18 are untenured.

We invite you to read bios of our new colleagues at the links below, and to join us in extending them a warm welcome to our community!

2020-2021 New Ladder Faculty Booklet (Click to Download)

New Humanities Faculty

Sunil Amrith

Renu and Anand Dhawan Professor of History

Lauren Benton

Barton M. Biggs Professor of History and Professor of Law

Marcel Elias

Assistant Professor of English

Supriya Gandhi

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

Elizabeth Hinton

Associate Professor of History and African American Studies, and Professor of Law

Benedito Machava

Assistant Professor of History

Nadine Moeller

Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Feisal Mohamed

Professor of English

Jesús Velasco

Professor of Spanish and Portuguese

Nana Osei Quarshie

Assistant Professor of History

New Social Science Faculty

Melissa Ferguson

Professor of Psychology

Phillip Atiba Goff

Professor of African American Studies and Psychology

Charles Hodgson

Assistant Professor of Economics

Daniel Karell

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Yukiko Koga

Associate Professor of Anthropology

Egor Lazarev

Assistant Professor of Political Science

Samuel McDougle

Assistant Professor of Psychology

Robb Rutledge

Assistant Professor of Psychology

Kenneth Scheve

Professor of Political Science and Global Affairs

Jasjeet Sekhon

Professor of Political Science and Statistics and Data Science

Serena Tucci

Assistant Professor of Anthropology

New Science and SEAS Faculty

Eduardo da Silva Neto

Assistant Professor of Physics

Anna C. Gilbert

Professor of Mathematics and Statistics and Data Science

Yu He

Assistant Professor of Applied Physics

Stacy Malaker

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Michael O’Donnell

Assistant Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

C. Brandon Ogbunu

Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Shruti Puri

Assistant Professor of Applied Physics

John Schotland

Professor of Mathematics

Andre Wibisono

Assistant Professor of Computer Science