FASTAP Review Committee (ad hoc)


The FASTAP Review Committee was appointed on January 22, 2015 by Provost Benjamin Polak. Chaired by FAS Dean Tamar Gendler, the committee included the FAS divisional directors and five other tenured members of the FAS faculty, along with the deans of the Divinity School and the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, schools whose promotions and tenure policies follow those of FASTAP ’07.

In the fall of 2015, an FAS faculty subcommittee was formed, chaired by Professor Amy Hungerford. The FAS faculty subcommittee met throughout academic year 2015-16 to produce a report and to offer recommendations to the Faculty of Arts and Sciences on a process and set of standards for ladder faculty appointments, promotions, and tenure.

Committee Report

FASTAP Review Committee Report (2016)

Committee Membership

Tamar Szabó Gendler | Committee Chair; Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Vincent J. Scully Professor of Philosophy and Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Sciences

Karen Anderson (committee staff) | Associate Provost for Academic Resources and Faculty Development

Richard Bribiescas | Deputy Provost for Faculty Development and Diversity; Professor of Anthropology and of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

John (Jack) Dovidio | Dean of Academic Affairs of the FAS; Carl I. Hovland Professor of Psychology and Professor in the Institute for Social and Policy Studies and of Epidemiology (Chronic Diseases)

Alan Gerber | Dean of Social Sciences; Charles C. and Dorathea S. Dilley Professor of Political Science and Professor in the Institute for Social and Policy Studies, of Economics and of Public Health (Health Policy)

Amy Hungerford (Faculty Subcommittee Chair) | Dean of Humanities; Professor of English and of American Studies

Naomi Lamoreaux | Stanley B. Resor Professor of Economics and Professor of History

Kathryn (Katie) Lofton | Deputy Dean for Diversity and Faculty Development; Chair, Religious Studies; Professor of Religious Studies, of American Studies and of History and Divinity

Scott Miller | Divisional Director, Sciences; Chair, Physical Sciences and Engineering Advisory Committee; Irénée du Pont Professor of Chemistry

T. Kyle Vanderlick | Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Science; Thomas E. Golden, Jr. Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering