Announcement: Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty (CESOF) for 2023-24

Wednesday, March 29, 2023

March 29, 2023

To: FAS Faculty
Cc: FAS Steering, FAS Dean’s office, President’s office, Provost’s office

[Summary: This message announces the membership of the Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty (CESOF) for 2023-24.]

Dear colleagues,

I write to inform you that we have formed the FAS Committee for the Economic Status of the Faculty (CESOF) for 2023-24.
CESOF looks at issues of compensation for FAS ladder, instructional, and research faculty, both in the form of salaries and in the form of benefits. The committee typically meets for a two-year cycle, at the conclusion of which it prepares a report to be shared with the FAS faculty and the FAS administration. In some years, the committee also chooses to explore an issue (such as childcare or housing) in particular depth. All past CESOF reports are available on the FAS website.
The members of the 2023-2024 FAS CESOF are:

  • Samuel Kortum (Chair), James Burrows Moffatt Professor of Economics and Professor of Management
  • Shiri Goren, Senior Lector II of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
  • Daniel Greco, Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Miki Havlickova, Senior Lecturer II of Mathematics
  • Reina Maruyama, Professor of Physics
  • Laura Nasrallah, Buckingham Professor of New Testament Criticism and Interpretation and Professor of Religious Studies
  • Rourke O’Brien, Assistant Professor of Sociology
  • Vanessa Ogle, Associate Professor of History
  • Yong Xiong, Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry

Anne Shutkin, Chief of Staff in the FAS Dean’s Office, will staff the committee with support from the Office of Institutional Research. I am grateful to the FAS-SEAS Senate and FAS Steering for their suggestions for the composition of this outstanding group.
As you know, our faculty already contribute to Yale in many ways, so please join me in thanking these colleagues for agreeing to carry on CESOF’s important work.
Best wishes,


Kathryn Lofton
Acting Dean, Faculty of Arts and Sciences
FAS Dean of Humanities
Lex Hixon Professor of Religious Studies, of American Studies, of History, and of Divinity