2021-2022 FAS Department and Program Chairs (September 13, 2021)

[Summary: This message lists the FAS department and program chairs for 2021-2022 and provides links to additional information about these colleagues.]

To: FAS Faculty; FAS Lead Administrators, Operations Managers, and Chair’s Assistants

Cc: FAS Steering, FAS Dean’s Office, GSAS Dean’s Office, Yale College Dean’s Office, OFAS, President’s Office, Provost’s Office, OPAC, University Cabinet

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to share with you the list of the 2021-22 chairs of our Faculty of Arts and Sciences departments and programs (see below). You can learn more about these colleagues here. A downloadable contact table of FAS chairs and chair’s assistants can be found here.

I am grateful to our chairs for their service to their units and to Yale,  and it is a privilege to work with such an outstanding group of colleagues. Please join me in thanking them for their leadership, their service, and all that they do on behalf of the FAS.

With gratitude,


Tamar Szabó Gendler
Dean, Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Vincent J. Scully Professor of Philosophy
Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Science

FAS Department and Program Chairs, 2021-2022



African American Studies

Jacqueline Goldsby

American Studies

Michael Denning


Douglas Rogers

Applied Mathematics

Anna Gilbert

Applied Physics

Vidvuds Ozolins


Sarbani Basu

Biomedical Engineering

Mark Saltzman (Acting Chair, Fall 2021)

Chemical and Environmental Engineering

Jaehong Kim


Kurt Zilm


Kirk Freudenburg

Cognitive Science

Brian Scholl

Comparative Literature

Martin Hägglund

Computer Science

Zhong Shao

Earth and Planetary Sciences

Maureen Long

East Asian Languages and Literatures

Aaron Gerow

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Thomas Near


Tony Smith

Electrical Engineering

Leandros Tassiulas


Jessica Brantley

Ethics, Politics, and Economics

Frances Rosenbluth

Ethnicity, Race, and Migration

Ana Ramos-Zayas

Film and Media Studies

John Peters


Pierre Saint-Amand

Germanic Languages and Literatures

Kirk Wetters


Joanne Meyerowitz (Acting Chair, 2021-2022)

History of Art

Milette Gaifman

History of Science and Medicine

Deborah Coen


Francesco Casetti

Italian Studies

Jane Tylus

Judaic Studies

Maurice Samuels


Raffaella Zanuttini


Wilhelm Schlag

Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

Udo Schwarz

Medieval Studies

Emily Thornbury

Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry

Enrique M. De La Cruz

Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

Vivian Irish

Music Department

Ian Quinn

Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Shawkat Toorawa


Kenneth Winkler (Acting Chair, 2021-2022)


Karsten Heeger

Political Science

Gregory Huber


Jutta Joorman

Religious Studies

Frank Griffel

Renaissance Studies

Ayesha Ramachandran

Slavic Languages and Literatures

Edyta Bojanowska


Philip Gorski

Spanish and Portuguese

Jesús Velasco

Statistics and Data Science

Joseph Chang

Theater and Performance Studies

Gundula Kreuzer (Acting Chair, Fall 2021)

Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Roderick Ferguson