Department and Program Chairs

Contact info for chairs and their assistants may be found in this table. The list of chairs for the spring 2018 semester is located hereDepartments and programs marked with † are cross-divisional.


African American Studies†

Gerald Jaynes

Acting Chair, 2018-2019; Professor of Economics & African American Studies

African American Studies†

Jacqueline Goldsby

Department Chair; Professor of English, African American Studies, & American Studies

American Studies (Program)†

Matthew Jacobson

Program Chair; William Robertson Coe Professor of American Studies, & Professor of African American Studies & History


Emily Greenwood

Department Chair; Professor of Classics & African American Studies

Comparative Literature

Martin Hägglund

Department Chair; Professor of Comparative Literature & Humanities

East Asian Languages and Literatures

Tina Lu

Department Chair; Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures


Langdon Hammer

Department Chair; Niel Gray, Jr. Professor of English

Film and Media Studies (Program)

Francesco Casetti

Program Chair; Thomas E. Donnelley Professor of Humanities; Professor of Film Studies


Alice Kaplan

Acting Chair, Spring 2019; John M. Musser Professor of French


Maurice Samuels

Department Chair; Betty Jane Anlyan Professor of French

Germanic Languages and Literatures

Kirk Wetters

Department Chair; Professor of Germanic Language and Literature


Alan Mikhail

Department Chair; Professor of History

History of Art

Robert Nelson

Acting Chair; Robert Lehman Professor of the History of Art

History of Art

Timothy Barringer

Department Chair; Paul Mellon Professor of the History of Art

Humanities (Program)

Bryan Garsten

Program Chair; Professor of Political Science and Humanities

Italian Language and Literature

Millicent Marcus

Department Chair; Professor of Italian


James Hepokoski

Department Chair; Professor of Music

Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Shawkat Toorawa

Department Chair; Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations


Verity Harte

Department Chair; George A. Saden Prof of Philosophy and Classics

Religious Studies

Kathryn Lofton

Department Chair; Professor of Religious Studies, American Studies, History, & Divinity

Religious Studies

Harry Stout

Acting Chair, 2018-2019; Jonathan Edwards Professor of Religious Studies, Professor of American Studies, Divinity, & History

Slavic Languages and Literatures

John Mackay

Department Chair; Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures and Film Studies

Spanish and Portuguese

R. Howard Bloch

Department Chair; Sterling Professor of French

Theater Studies (Program)

Daniel Harrison

Program Chair; Allen Forte Professor of Music

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (Program)†

Margaret  Homans

Program Chair; Professor of English & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Social Science


Anne Underhill

Department Chair; Professor of Anthropology


Dirk Bergemann

Department Chair; Douglass & Marion Campbell Professor of Economics & Computer Science


Robert Frank

Department Chair; Professor of Linguistics

Political Science

Steven Wilkinson

Department Chair; Nilekani Professor of India & South Asian Studies & Professor of Political Science & International Affairs


Frank Keil

Department Chair; Charles C & Dorathea S Dilley Professor of Psychology & Linguistics


Grace Kao

Department Chair; IBM Professor of Sociology

Statistics and Data Science

Harry Zhou

Department Chair; Professor of Statistics


Applied Physics

Charles Ahn

Department Chair; William K. Lanman Jr. Professor of Applied Physics & Physics & of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science


Sarbani Basu

Department Chair; Professor of Astronomy


Kurt Zilm

Department Chair; Professor of Chemistry

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Thomas Near

Department Chair; Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Geology and Geophysics

David Bercovici

Department Chair; Frederick W. Beinecke Professor of Geology and Geophysics


Yair Minsky

Department Chair; Einar Hille Professor of Mathematics

Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry

Mark Hochstrasser

Department Chair; Eugene Higgins Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry; Professor of Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology

Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

Vivian Irish

Department Chair; Professor of Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology; Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology


Paul Tipton

Department Chair; Professor of Physics

School of Engineering & Applied Science

Biomedical Engineering

Jay Humphrey

Department Chair; John C. Malone Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Chemical and Environmental Engineering

Jaehong Kim

Department Chair; Professor of Chemical & Environmental Engineering

Computer Science

Zhong Shao

Department Chair; Professor of Computer Science

Electrical Engineering

Leandros Tassiulas

Department Chair; John C. Malone Professor of Electrical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

Udo Schwarz

Department Chair; Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science; Professor of Chemical & Environmental Engineering

Additional Program Chairs

Applied Mathematics (Program)

Peter Jones

Program Chair; James E. English Professor of Mathematics & Applied Math

Cognitive Science (Program)†

Paul Bloom

Program Chair; Brooks & Suzanne Ragen Professor of Psychology & Cognitive Science

Ethics, Politics, and Economics (Program)†

Frances Rosenbluth

Director; Damon Wells Professor of Political Science

Ethnicity, Race, and Migration (Program)†

Alicia Schmidt Camacho

Department Chair; Professor of American Studies

History of Science, Medicine, and Public Health (Program)

Deborah Coen

Program Chair; Professor of History

Judaic Studies (Program)

Steven Fraade

Program Chair; Mark Taper Professor of Religious Studies

Medieval Studies (Program)

Ardis Butterfield

Program Chair; John M. Schiff Prof of English, Prof of French & Music

Renaissance Studies (Program)

Carlos Eire

Program Chair; T. Lawrason Riggs Professor of History & Religious Studies