Language Study Committee


The Language Study Committee (LSC) is a standing committee that advises the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences on foreign language education at Yale and provides counsel to the director of the Center for Language Study. The LSC has a broad charge which includes oversight of all language instruction carried out by the departments and programs of the FAS, and increasingly over language instruction conducted elsewhere at Yale, wherever common sense and efficiency suggest that such instruction should be coordinated, or at least linked, centrally. The committee also participates in the promotion and reappointment reviews of candidates for the rank of Senior Lector II, and reviews applications for professional development leaves made by language faculty.

Committee Membership for 2019-20

Kirk Wetters | Committee Chair; Chair, Germanic Languages and Literatures; Professor, Germanic Languages and Literatures

Jasmina Besirevic Regan | Associate Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Ame Cividanes | Senior Lector I, Spanish and Portuguese

Jane Edwards | Senior Associate Dean, Yale College; Dean of International and Professional Experience

David Hirsch | Director, Academic IT Strategy

Michael (Mick) Hunter | Associate Professor, East Asian Languages and Literatures

George Levesque | Associate Dean, Yale College; Dean of Academic Programs

Mary Jo Lubrano | Associate Director, Language Education and Research

Constantine Muravnik | Senior Lector II, Slavic Languages and Literatures

Irene Peirano Garrison | Associate Professor, Classics

Dina Roginsky | Senior Lector I, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Theresa Schenker | Senior Lector II, Germanic Languages and Literatures

Candace Skorupa | Senior Lector I, French; Lecturer, Comparative Literature

Risa Sodi | Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs, Yale College; Director of Advising and Special Programs

Richard Sosa | Program Director, Council on East Asian Studies, MacMillan Center

Indriyo Sukmono | Senior Lector I, MacMillan Center

Shawkat Toorawa | Chair, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations; Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations and Religious Studies

Nelleke Van Deusen-Scholl | Director, Center for Language Study; Professor (Adjunct), Linguistics

John Wa’Njogu | Senior Lector II, MacMillan Center

Jason Zentz | FAS Assistant Dean of Academic and Faculty Affairs

William Zhou | Senior Lector I, East Asian Languages and Literatures


Past Committee Membership

2018-19 Language Study Committee

2017-18 Language Study Committee

2016-17 Language Study Committee

2015-16 Language Study Committee

2014-15 Language Study Committee

2013-14 Language Study Committee