Committee on communal expectations for teaching and learning

Beginning July 13, 2020, a committee of faculty and students chaired by FAS Dean of Diversity and Development Larry Gladney will develop a set of communal expectations for FAS teaching and learning for academic year 2020-21 that outline principles of mutual respect and understanding for faculty and students in our classroom interactions. The committee seeks to articulate principles that represent a common understanding – by faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates – of our work together.


  • Larry Gladney, Phyllis Wallace Dean of Diversity and Faculty Development in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Professor of Physics


  • Michael Bochkur Dratver, Undergraduate Student, Jonathan Edwards College ‘23
  • Emily Erikson, Associate Professor, Sociology; Member, FAS Faculty Senate
  • Jenny Frederick, Executive Director, Yale Poorvu Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Maria Del Mar Galindo, Graduate Student, Department of English
  • Anjelica Gonzalez, Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
  • Sarah Mahurin, Residential College Dean, Timothy Dwight College; Director of Undergraduate Studies, Special Divisional Majors
  • Paul North, Professor of German
  • Susan Sawyer, Senior Associate General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel
  • Rebecca Toseland, Senior Lecturer, Department of Economics; Director of Research Support, Tobin Center for Economic Policy